Go TO Content
the Control Yuan Committees

Article 96 of the Constitution provides that in order to ascertain violation of law or neglect of duty, the Control Yuan shall set up a certain number of committees to look into the activities of the Executive Yuan, its ministries, and its commissions. The following seven committees have been established according to Article 2 of the Organic Act of the Control Yuan Committees:   

  • Committee on Domestic and Ethnic Affairs
  • Committee on Foreign and National Defense Affairs
  • Committee on Social Welfare and Environment Hygiene Affairs
  • Committee on Financial and Economic Affairs
  • Committee on Educational and Cultural Affairs
  • Committee on Transportation and Procurement Affairs
  • Committee on Judicial and Prison Administration Affairs  

The committees are comprised of Control Yuan members. Each member can join no more than three committees but shall attend other committees as a non-voting member. A committee cannot have more than 14 members, who should elect a convener from amongst themselves to handle the committee’s day-to-day business. The members of a committee are called into session by the convener, who should serve as its chairperson. An extemporaneous meeting may be held upon proposal by at least three members. A joint session, approved by the conveners of the respective committees, may be held to handle a case that involves two or more committees’ affairs.  

Each committee is staffed with 1 chief secretary, 1 senior specialist, 1 specialist, 1-2 officers and 1 clerk ranked. Committee staff are to be appointed by the Yuan president in consideration of the committee’s workload.

The following four special committees have been established according to Paragraph 3 of Article 2 of the Organic Act of the Control Yuan Committees:   

  • Committee on Statutory Studies
  • Committee on Consultation
  • Committee on Discipline for Control Yuan Members
  • Committee on Anti-Corruption

With the exception of the Committee on Consultation, the other committees are comprised of members of the Control Yuan. They are separately charged with the study of supervisory statutes, deliberation on the handling of disciplinary cases involving members of the Control Yuan, handling asset declaration by public functionaries, conflict of interests prevention, political donations, and lobbying.  

Each of these special committees shall have an administrative secretary, and other staff needed shall be filled by Control Yuan personnel.  

Paragraph 1 of Article 52 of the Administrative Appeal Act provides that the Control Yuan shall set up an administrative appeal committee. According to Article 2 of the Regulations of the Control Yuan’s Administrative Appeal Committee, the said committee shall have nine to thirteen members, and in addition to the vice president of the Control Yuan serving as an ex officio member and chairperson, at least half these members shall be recruited by the Control Yuan president from among society’s impartial public figures, scholars, or experts. The rest shall be recruited by the president from among Control Yuan members not serving in the Committee on Anti-corruption. Their task is to handle the administrative appeal cases against the decision made by the Control Yuan or the National Audit Office. The committee shall have an administrative secretary, and all the other posts are filled by appointment or assignment of Yuan personnel by the Yuan president.  

Aside from standing and special committees established by the Control Yuan, there is another group tasked with organizational affairs. The Control Yuan currently has four task forces: 1. The Budgetary Planning and Administrative Task Force, which provides suggestions on the planning and drawing up of the Control Yuan’s annual budget. 2. The International Affairs Task Force, which is responsible for strengthening communication and cooperation with international ombudsman organizations and institutions. 3. The Gender Equality Task Force, which promotes and oversees the Control Yuan’s internal affairs regarding gender equality. 4. Human Rights Protection Task Force, which is responsible for participating in the writing and preparation of national reports for various international human rights conventions. About the administrative system of the Control Yuan, please see Appendix Two (p.38)